Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Three Anderson Players Tabbed to Raven/Quaker Classic All-Tournament Team

Three Anderson Players Tabbed to Raven/Quaker Classic All-Tournament Team
Anderson University men's soccer standouts Nick Martin (New Palestine, Ind./New Palestine), Caleb Oliver (Marion, Ind./Marion) and Derek Thorpe (Cicero, Ind./Hamilton Heights) were tabbed to the Raven/Quaker Classic All-Tournament Team, which was announced on Sunday. Martin was also selected as Offensive MVP of the tournament.
"I am proud of how hard these boys worked on the weekend," Coach Scott Fridley said.
Martin netted a goal from deep during the 75th minute of Friday's match against Emory & Henry College (0-1-1). It was the third and final goal as Anderson (1-1) powered to a 3-0 win against the Wasps. The senior from New Palestine also came up with two steals and two interceptions against Emory & Henry.
"Nick had the goal of the tournament to solidify Friday's game, a screamer from 30 yards out."
In addition to finding the back of the net three times against Emory & Henry, Anderson's defense held the Wasps to zero shots on goal.
Thorpe recorded four shots on goal against Emory & Henry. After nearly scoring in the opening minute of the match, Thrope rebounded a shot from Daniel Collins (Jamestown, Ind./Western Boone) and finished the game-winning goal 19 minutes into the match.
During Saturday's 2-0 loss to Trine University (2-0), Thorpe led the Ravens with three interceptions. The senior from Cicero totaled three steals and three interceptions for the tournament.
Oliver compiled a 1.05 goals against average for the tournament. The sophomore from Marion saved five of the seven shots he faced for a .714 save percentage. During the 40th minute against Trine, Oliver shut down a penalty kick from Trine's Nooh Aljabaly.

"Derek and Caleb had strong weekends. I'm proud of their performances."
Trine's Beau Hill was named Defensive MVP as he served on a defensive line that recorded two shutouts during the tournament.
Beau Hill – Trine (Defensive MVP)
Nick Martin (New Palestine, Ind./New Palestine) – Anderson (Offensive MVP)
Nooh Aljabaly – Trine
Brian Morris – Trine
Colin Nicoski – Trine
Caleb Oliver (Marion, Ind./Marion) – Anderson
Derek Thorpe (Cicero, Ind./Hamilton Heights) – Anderson
Jeffrey Douyere – Earlham
Drew Fitzgibbon – Earlham
Morgan Moser – Emory & Henry
C.J. Poulsen – Emory & Henry